2023 NFL playoffs bracket: Championship round schedule, TV, odds as Eagles, 49ers brace for NFC bang

The divisional round of the playoffs certainly set some stories about who were the best teams in the NFL after an exciting weekend of games. In the end, the league has the top four teams playing during the conference championship weekend.

The Philadelphia Eagles got the win over the New York Giants, showing that they are still one of the best teams in the league and the Super Bowl contender they’ve been all season. Philadelphia will host the NFC Championship Game against the San Francisco 49ers, who won a showdown against the Dallas Cowboys to set up the conference with a matchup of the top two seeds.

The AFC Championship Game features a highly anticipated rematch between the Kansas City Chiefs and Cincinnati Bengals in what is sure to be one of the best games of the season. Patrick Mahomes had a gallant performance on a high ankle sprain for the Chiefs to get past the Jacksonville Jaguars, while Joe Burrow led the Bengals to a dominant victory over the Buffalo Bills – in snowy Buffalo.

The Conference Championship weekend has all the makings of an all-timer. Here’s an early preview of what’s on the agenda next week.

All odds courtesy of Caesars Sportsbook

NFC championship game

(2) San Francisco 49ers at (1) Philadelphia Eagles

When: Sunday, January 29, 3 p.m. ET
TV: Fox | Current: fuboTV
Line: Eagles -2, O/U 45.5

The 49ers and Eagles do not have a rich playoff history, with Philadelphia and San Francisco meeting only once in the postseason (49ers won 14-0 in the 1996 NFC Wild Card Round). Jalen Hurts and Brock Purdy – both starting quarterbacks in the game – weren’t even born yet. Hurts (24 years, 175 days) vs. Purdy (23 years, 33 days) becomes the youngest matchup in NFC Championship Game history.

Purdy is the fourth quarterback drafted in the sixth round or later (or not drafted) to reach a conference championship in his first season as a starter. The 49ers are playing in their 18th conference championship, the most in NFL history (and third in the past four years). They are the only NFC team never to play in Philadelphia in a road playoff game.

Hurts is the youngest quarterback in Eagles history to reach the Conference Championship game, breaking Donovan McNabb’s record set in 2001. at the NFL. The Eagles are looking for their fourth Super Bowl appearance in franchise history and second in the past six seasons.

The Eagles finished with the best offensive line in the NFC in points and yards per game. The 49ers finished with the best defense in the NFC in points and yards per game. This game is sure to settle the age-old debate of offense versus defense and pave the way for a Philadelphia thriller.

AFC championship game

(4) Cincinnati Bengals at (1) Kansas City Chiefs

When: Sunday, January 29, 6:30 p.m. ET
TV: CBS| Current: Paramount+
Line: Leaders -1.5, O/U 47.5

A rematch of last year’s AFC title game against the Chiefs and Bengals is already worth the hype. Add Patrick Mahomes and Joe Burrow to the mix and NFL fans could embrace a new classic, especially with Mahomes playing through a high ankle sprain.

Mahomes has never beaten the Bengals since Burrow became the starting quarterback, winning 0-3 against him in the past two seasons – including last year’s AFC Championship Game, in which Kansas City blew a 21-10 lead in the second quarter and lost 27-24 in over time. Each of those encounters was decided by exactly three points, with Cincinnati beating Kansas City 26-6 in the fourth quarter and overtime in those games.

Mahomes joins Tom Brady (eight in a row) and Ken Stabler (five in a row) as the only quarterbacks to start five consecutive conference championship games, as the Chiefs become the first team in NFL history to start five consecutive conference championship games. games at home. He is also the only quarterback to lead a team to five conference championship games before turning 30. The Chiefs are looking to become just the ninth team to reach the Super Bowl three times in a four-year span.

The Bengals attempt to reach the Super Bowl in consecutive seasons, attempting to become the first team since the seeding began in 1975 to reach back-to-back Super Bowls without having a top-two seed in either season. Joe Burrow can join Russell Wilson as the only quarterbacks to start two Super Bowls in their first three seasons. Burrow is 5-1 in his playoff career and 3-0 on road (the Bengals have never won a postseason road game prior to Burrow). Cincinnati has never lost an AFC Championship Game, going 3-0 in franchise history.

Mahomes vs. Burrow IV should become a classic no matter how the Chiefs quarterback plays with his high ankle sprain.

Leave a Comment